Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Anke Ehlers

Dipl-Psych PhD Dr rer nat habil CPsychol

Professor of Experimental Psychopathology and Wellcome Trust Principal Research Fellow

  • Co-Director, Oxford Centre for Anxiety Disorders and Trauma
  • NIHR Senior Investigator

Anxiety disorders and post traumatic stress disorder

Research Summary

My research mainly focuses on anxiety disorders and posttraumatic stress disorder. My Wellcome Trust funded group uses experimental paradigms and prospective longitudinal studies to identify psychological factors that help explain the development and maintenance of these disabling conditions. The results of these studies help us develop new psychological treatments that target these factors. The treatments are evaluated in randomised trials and cohort studies.

The cognitive therapy programme for PTSD developed by our group has been shown to be highly acceptable to patients and very effective. It has been successfully disseminated to provide effective treatment services for victims of the bombings in Omagh and London, and to National Health Service clinics.

My contributions to the field have recently been recognised by the International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies (ISTSS) Lifetime Achievement Award for 2022. 

Current research projects investigate whether the treatment can be delivered more efficiently, and what the mechanisms of treatment are. Experimental studies investigate mechanisms of intrusive memories after trauma.

I am a Supernumerary Fellow of Wolfson College. I am a Fellow of the British Academy, The Academy of Medical Sciences, the Association for Psychological Science, and an elected Member of German National Academy of Scientists Leopoldina and the Academia Europaea.