Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Prof David Clark was awarded CBE in the New Year's Honours List
Prof David Clark was awarded CBE in the New Year's Honours List

Congratulations for their recent success go to:

Prof David Clark – Commander of the British Empire

Prof David Clark was awarded Commander of the British Empire in the New Year’s Honours List 2013 for ‘services to mental health.’

His research focuses on cognitive approaches to the understanding and treatment of anxiety disorders and has led to the development of new and effective cognitive therapy programmes for panic disorder, hypochondriasis, social phobia and post-traumatic stress disorder. He is National Clinical Advisor for the UK's Improving Access to Psychological Therapies programme.

Prof Clark studied Experimental Psychology at Oxford (MA, DPhil) and trained in Clinical Psychology at the Institute of Psychiatry (MPhil). In 2011 he took up the Chair of Experimental Psychology at Oxford and established the Oxford Centre for Anxiety Disorders and Trauma.

Prof Lars Fugger - Wellcome Trust Senior Investigator Award

Prof Fugger received the award for his work on Multiple Sclerosis. His group is seeking to understand the molecular basis for interactions between genetic and environmental risk factors through a multidisciplinary approach, which combines analysis of both clinical samples and humanised transgenic in vivo models. Their goal is to develop new therapeutic avenues for MS by gaining insight into disease pathways, which can be manipulated through both novel drugs and drug repositioning. 

Prof Fugger trained at the University of Copenhagen and at Stanford University. He became Professor of Clinical Immunology at the University of Oxford in 2004 and Professor of Neuroimmunology in 2007 in the NDCN.

Prof Kia Nobre – MRC Partnership Grant

Prof Kia Nobre and colleagues at the Oxford Centre for Human Brain Activity were part of a collaboration of MEG researchers across the UK to receive a £1.3m Partnership Grant from the MRC to enhance MEG training, collaboration, and data sharing.

Dr Martin Turner – MRC Senior Clinician Scientist Fellowship

Dr Turner is a Consultant Neurologist and Clinician Scientist in NDCN. His research focus is the neurodegenerative disorder Motor Neuron Disease (MND), also known as Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) in its commonest form.

Dr Gwenaelle Douaud – MRC Career Development Award

Dr Douaud is part of the FMRIB Analysis Group. She focuses on translational research from imaging methods to applied human neuroscience, such as brain maturation and ageing, and with a particular emphasis on neurodegenerative disorders (Alzheimer's disease, movement disorders and motor neuron disease).

Dr Chris Butler - MRC Scientist-Clinician Fellowship

Dr Butler is investigating the functional and neural basis of accelerated forgetting in patients with transient epileptic amnesia.

Dr Anna Mitchell – MRC Centenary Award

Dr Anna Mitchell, Experimental Psychology, has received an MRC Centenary Award. This prestigious award has just been launched by the MRC to mark its 100 years, supporting the very best of its early career researchers to accelerate their research and their career development.