Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Photo of Polly Waite against a backdrop of colourful balloons floating into a blue sky

Huge congratulations to Polly Waite, Associate Professor of Clinical Psychology, for winning an NIHR Development and Skills Enhancement Award. This award follows on from her NIHR Postdoctoral Fellowship and provides funding for her work developing treatment for adolescent anxiety disorders for a year from 1 September 2022. It is through the Department of Psychiatry and will enable her to be based at Oxford University full-time.  

Polly said,


The award will allow me to address gaps in my knowledge and experience, develop networks, and build capacity to apply for a further NIHR Advanced Fellowship. It will also help me lead and successfully deliver multi-site randomised controlled trials evaluating psychological treatments for adolescent anxiety disorders that can be successfully implemented in routine services.

Similar stories

Zoltán Molnár delivers Keynote Lecture at first-of-its-kind Anatomical conference

Professor Zoltán Molnár delivers the first Keynote Lecture at the 116th Annual Meeting of the Anatomische Gesellschaft, which this year is held as a Joint Meeting with the Anatomical Society for the first time.

Gero Miesenböck awarded Horwitz Prize for foundational work on Optogenetics

Congratulations are in order for Professor Gero Miesenböck, who is to be awarded the 2022 Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize, together with Professors Karl Deisseroth and Peter Hegemann, for research that laid the foundation for the field of optogenetics.

Professor Daniel Freeman Elected British Academy Fellow

Professor Freeman is one of seven academics from the University of Oxford who have been elected as 2022 Fellows of the British Academy in recognition of their distinguished contribution to research.

Mootaz Salman recognised by premier global society for Neurochemists

Congratulations are in order for Dr Mootaz Salman, who has received the prestigious Young Scientist Lectureship Award by the International Society of Neurochemistry (ISN) in recognition for his eminent research achievements in cellular neuroscience.