Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Oxford University's Department of Pharmacology has been recognised as one of the key centres in the history of UK drug research and development.

The UK has an illustrious history of discovering drugs that have treated and saved the lives of countless people around the world. In recognition of those successes, the British Pharmacological Society each year selects and highlights sites in different locations around the UK where academic institutions and pharmaceutical companies have made a significant contribution to improving human health.

Called UK Pharmacology on the Map, the scheme sees MPs, peers and senior members of the scientific community voting for sites shortlisted by the Society's members. At a parliamentary reception, Stephen Metcalfe MP revealed the names of the 2015 winning sites, including the The Department of Pharmacology at University of Oxford.

Established in 1912, the pharmacology department in Oxford has produced an eminent international scientific family including Nobel Prize winner Sir John Vane, Harold Burn, Sir William Paton, Edith Bulbring, Hugh Blaschko and Miles Vaughan-Williams who were responsible for a range of important drug discoveries.


Read More

Our aim is that today's teaching and research – and tomorrow's – will justify our place on the map as much as that done in the past.

- Professor Nigel Emptage