Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The 2018 University title awards highlight the development of the talent pool across our Neuroscience community.


Congratulations to the following new Full Professors

  • Angela Russell, Professor of Medicinal Chemistry
  • Rebecca Slater, Professor of Paediatric Neuroscience
  • Charlotte Stagg, Professor of Human Neurophysiology
  • Damian Tyler, Professor of Physiological Metabolism

Associate Professors

  • Jesper Andersson, Nuffield Dept. of Clinical Neurosciences
  • James Fitzgerald, Nuffield Dept. of Surgical Sciences
  • Simon Kyle, Nuffield Dept. of Clinical Neurosciences
  • Carlo Rinaldi, Dept. of Physiology Anatomy and Genetics
  • Simon Rinaldi, Nuffield Dept. of Clinical Neurosciences
  • Peter Scanlon, Nuffield Dept. of Clinical Neurosciences
  • Kate Saunders, Dept. of Psychiatry
  • Katy Vincent, Nuffield Dept. of Women’s and Reproductive Health
  • Mark Walton, Dept. of Experimental Psychology

and University Research Lecturers

  • Mark Chiew, Nuffield Dept. of Clinical Neurosciences
  • Nicol Harper, Dept. of Physiology Anatomy and Genetics
  • Michael Kohl, Dept. of Physiology Anatomy and Genetics
  • Susannah Murphy, Dept. of Psychiatry
  • Sridhar Vasudevan, Dept. of Pharmacology
  • Kerry Walker, Dept. of Physiology Anatomy and Genetics
  • Nahid Zokaei, Dept. of Experimental Psychology

Similar stories

Researchers win UK Dementia Research Institute Grand Challenge Award to identify early signs of Alzheimer's

The MRC Brain Network Dynamics Unit has received funding for a multi-year research partnership designed to advance the understanding of early changes to the operations of brain circuits in Alzheimer's disease.

Armin Lak appointed Associate Professor of Integrative Neuroscience

The post is in association with a Tutorial Fellowship at St John's College.

NICE recommends digital mental health technologies from Oxford

Two digital tools were recommended for use in the NHS to help children and young people with symptoms of anxiety or low mood.

Mootaz Salman receives prestigious science award from Iraq

Congratulations are in order for Dr Mootaz Salman, who has received the National Medal of Distinctive Scientific Achievement by the Government of Iraq.

Michael Sharpe receives Adolf Meyer Award for lifetime achievement

The award is given by the American Psychiatric Association (APA) for lifetime achievement in psychiatric research

Edward Harcourt made MBE in New Year Honours

Professor of Philosophy in the Department of Psychiatry has been appointed a MBE for services to Interdisciplinary Research.