Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

We are delighted to announce that Mark Walton has been conferred the title of Professor of Behavioural Neuroscience in the 2022 Recognition of Distinction Exercise. The award of the title of full professor recognises excellence in research alongside contributions to teaching and good citizenship. 

Mark said,

I'm delighted to have been awarded this title.  I've been lucky enough to have been supported by outstanding lab members and collaborators who should all take much credit for this accolade.

Research in Mark's group explores how neuromodulator systems, particularly dopamine, shape motivation and adaptive decision making. To do this, techniques are used that enable the group to measure and manipulate neuromodulators and neural activity on a moment-by-moment basis as rodents perform rich behavioural tasks, allowing us to unravel how these systems regulate reward-driven action and behavioural flexibility.

Find out more about the Walton Lab

Similar stories

Mootaz Salman receives prestigious science award from Iraq

Congratulations are in order for Dr Mootaz Salman, who has received the National Medal of Distinctive Scientific Achievement by the Government of Iraq.

Michael Sharpe receives Adolf Meyer Award for lifetime achievement

The award is given by the American Psychiatric Association (APA) for lifetime achievement in psychiatric research

Edward Harcourt made MBE in New Year Honours

Professor of Philosophy in the Department of Psychiatry has been appointed a MBE for services to Interdisciplinary Research.

Inaugural winners of the DPAG Prize for Public Engagement with Research announced

Congratulations are in order for the winners Katherine Brimblecombe and Anna Kordala, and also to Jéssica Luiz and Andia Redpath who were highly commended for their outreach and public engagement work.

Zoltán Molnár honoured by the Royal Society of Biology

Congratulations are in order to Professor Zoltán Molnár on being elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Biology.

Dr Jane Walker gets prestigious ACLP award

Dr Jane Walker is the first person from outside the US to win the Academy of Consultation-Liaison Psychiatry Research Professor Award.